Cloud, sweet Cloud

01.11.2018

Home is where family and friends are–in other words, everywhere. Global networking is changing the definition both of living space and of “feeling at home”.

Facebook is about to expand its platform. The service "Facebook Spaces" is promoted as Facebook in virtual space: "Hang out with your friends in a fun, interactive virtual environment as if you were in the same room, no matter where you are." Thus a new type of medium might emerge under the slogan "Social-VR", to meet and exchange ideas with people in different physical locations.

A study by furniture giant Ikea found even today, only around a quarter of people associate "home" with a physical place, and only 7% with a geographical location. Almost half define it as the place where the most important relationships are cultivated. New technologies like "Social-VR" could render this shift even stronger.

If our social interactions continue to move into digital space, our understanding of home and family could shift into the cloud. And if we increasingly define feeling at home through our social contacts, the cloud itself could soon become home–one that is fixed, no matter where we are globally.

Read more about the transformation of living in the age of digitalisation in the free GDI study “Microliving – Urbanes Wohnen im 21. Jahrhundert” (available in German only).

Cloud, sweet Cloud

01.11.2018

Zuhause ist da, wo Familie und Freunde sind – also überall. Denn die globale Vernetzung verändert die Definition von Wohn- und Lebensraum, aber auch von Heimatgefühl ganz allgemein.

Facebook ist dabei, seine Plattform zu erweitern. Der Dienst «Facebook Spaces» wird als Facebook im virtuellen Raum angepriesen: «Hang out with your friends in a fun, interactive virtual environment as if you were in the same room, no matter where you are.» So könnte ein neues Medium unter dem Schlagwort «Social-VR» entstehen, um sich mit Menschen zu treffen und auszutauschen, die sich physisch nicht am gleichen Ort befinden.

Eine Studie des Möbelkonzerns Ikea zeigt: Bereits heute assoziiert nur noch rund ein Viertel der Menschen «Home» mit einem physischen, sogar nur 7 % mit einem geografischen Ort. Knapp die Hälfte definiert es als den Ort, wo man die wichtigsten Beziehungen pflegt. Durch neue Technologien wie «Social-VR» könnte diese Definitionsverschiebung noch klarer werden.

Wenn sich unsere sozialen Interaktionen weiter in den digitalen Raum verlagern, könnte sich auch unser Verständnis von Heimat und Familie nach und nach in die Cloud verschieben. Wenn wir das Zuhause-Fühlen zunehmend über unsere sozialen Kontakte definieren, könnte bald die Cloud selbst zu unserem Daheim werden. Eines, das immer dabei ist, egal wo auf der Welt wir uns gerade befinden.

Mehr zum Wandel des Wohnens im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung in der GDI-Studie «Microliving – Urbanes Wohnen im 21. Jahrhundert», die als Gratis-Download zur Verfügung steht.