Videos

David Bosshart: "Retailers have to become more flexible"

From shelf maintenance to more service and intelligent logistics – this development determines the new age of retail, says GDI CEO David Bosshart in a video interview. At the GDI Retail Summit, he will reveal the success factors of retail.

Steven Kotler about ultimate performance through brain hacking

Steven Kotler is the co-founder and director for research for the Flow Genome Project and author of «Stealing Fire». In this interview he talks about his live-changing flow experience and how people can learn to get into the flow.

Jo Marchant on how beliefs shape health

Microbiologist and science journalist Jo Marchant describes the influence of positive thoughts on our health and how placebos work, even when we are aware of the fact, that we are taking them.

Stefano Mancuso on intelligent plants

In this video interview Stefano Mancuso, Professor and Lead, International Laboratory for Plant Neurobiology at the University of Florence, describes, how plants interact with each other and what we can learn from them.

“There aren't five types of customers – there are 150”

We have to stop thinking in terms of the traditional age categories. Chris Sanderson, co-founder of the London-based trend consulting company The Future Laboratory, explains in this video interview how customer types will be defined in the future.

Arsenal fan services: The emotion managers

Personal contact and empathy are the most important elements in dealing with fans. Charlotte Kenny, Head of Fan Services at the British footbal club Arsenal, faces up to the challenges of dealing with fan communities.

18.09.2017

NearSt – search the web to buy around the corner

Offline shops are invisible for online purchases. Nick Brackenbury, CEO of the e-commerce company NearSt, wants to change this with an app. In this video interview, he explains how.

Technologie, Life Hacks
14.09.2017

“Calm technology“ – technology for the peace of mind

Technology should be a functional part of our life and not constantly interrupting our daily routine. This is what Amber Case says in a video that was recorded at the 67th International Retail Summit at GDI.

Primavera De Filippi on what we should learn from the Internet

Internet has evolved from a powerful tool for individual freedom into a tool for surveillance and control, says Harvard researcher Primavera De Filippi in this video interview. For blockchain we should learn from the past.

Alex Tapscott: "Blockchain will cut away at the middle class jobs"

Blockchain represents an evolution: from an internet of information to an internet of value, says author Alex Tapscott. In this interview, which was conducted at the Blockchain Valley Conference, Tapscott explains a few things that could go wrong with the bockchain.

Jesse Grushack: "We give artists a way to easily licence their music"

Jesse Grushack, Co-Founder of blockchain-based Ujo Music on how to create a fair ecosystem for the music industry. "It's about taking blockchains components and make these systems usable."

Jags Rao: "Blockchain is going to fundamentally change the way businesses are built"

Jags Rao, Blockchain Workstream Lead for the Reinsurance Technology Initiative at Swiss Re, talks about business cases and strategic applications of blockchain competencies.

Tyler Cowen: "We have become complacent"

Renowned economist Tyler Cowen in this video interview at the GDI says, our economy has become less dynamic, more bureaucratic and less innovative. This will become a problem in the long run.

Geostrategist Parag Khanna on direct technocracy

Geostrategist Parag Khanna recommends a government system in which big states learn from the small. We spoke to him about democracy, good governane and Switzerland and Singapure as role models at the conference "Tyler Cowen and Parag Khanna at GDI".

Herbert Bolliger: “Today, we want everything, everywhere”

At the 67th International Retail Summit, Migros CEO Herbert Bolliger discussed what’s surprised him over the last 12 years in retail, the challenges facing retailers today and sales robots. We spoke to him in an interview beforehand.

Tom Vanderbilt: "All preferences are learned"

Bestselling author Tom Vanderbilt is convinced that whether we prefer blue or red is the result of our socialisation. In a video interview from the GDI Trend Day, he explains why it’s difficult for us to learn to like new things.

“A society that no longer requires central organisations”

Blockchain makes it possible to imagine a society that no longer requires central organisations, says GDI researcher Karin Stieger in her video looking ahead to the Blockchain Valley Conference 2017.

Anarchy ahead: an interview with economist Branko Milanović

Concerning the future of the global economy, economist Branko Milanović has one good news and one bad news. He delivered them in our video interview conducted at the GDI conference on "The Future of Power".

The Power of Emotions: an interview with Turkish novelist Elif Shafak

"We have to enter into the world of emotions and to connect with people with anxiety", the award-winning author Elif Shafak said in our video interview conducted at the GDI conference on "The Future of Power".

Masqueraded Autocracies: an interview with Moisés Naím

Reports of an imminent demise of democracy were wildly exaggerated, assured Moisés Naím, Fellow at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, in our video interview conducted at the GDI conference on "The Future of Power".

Digital versus Democracy: an interview with Robert D. Kaplan

The United States are about to experience the first presidency of the digital age, says Robert Kaplan, Senior Fellow at the Center for a New American Security, in our video interview conducted at the GDI conference on "The Future of Power".

Globalisierung, Gesellschaft

Can Europe break smart?

In his groundbreaking essay "Breaking Smart", Silicon Valley thought leader Venkatesh Rao describes how software has revolutionised – and destroyed – business models. He talks to GDI CEO David Bosshart about entrepreneurship in the US and Europe, Brexit, and the future of nations.

Key Skills Required for Tomorrow’s Food Retailers

Joanne Denney-Finch, CEO of the UK research and training organisation IGD talks about customer's high expectations and inspiration.

Augmented Retail

The CEO of software provider Holition talks about the lack of interest in digital applications, postdigital customer experiences in the luxury industry and state-of-the-art shop architecture.

What retail can learn from selfies

Professor Lev Manovich talks about his instagram image analysis, the question of whether a globalised world promotes inequality rather than equality and gives insights on what retail can learn from its customers.

Artikel 1 bis 25 von 33 angezeigt

Videos

Konsum, Services, Vernetzung

«Es gibt nicht vier oder fünf Kundentypen, sondern 150.»

Wir müssen aufhören, in klassischen Alterskategorien zu denken. Wie Kundentypen künftig definiert werden, erklärt Chris Sanderson, Mitgründer des Londoner Trendconsulting-Unternehmens «The Future Laboratory», im Video-Interview.

Marketing, Social, Gesellschaft, Vernetzung

Arsenals Fan-Services: Die Emotionen-Manager

Persönlicher Kontakt und Empathie seien die wichtigsten Elemente im Umgang mit Fans. Charlotte Kenny, Leiterin Fan-Services des britischen Fussballvereins Arsenal, stellt sich den Herausforderungen im Umgang mit Fan-Communities.

Technologie, Handel, Konsum, Vernetzung

NearSt – im Web suchen, um die Ecke kaufen

Offline-Shops sind für Online-Einkäufe unsichtbar. Nick Brackenbury, CEO des E-Commerce-Unternehmens NearSt, will das mit einer App ändern. Wie, das erklärt er im Video-Interview.

Technologie, Life Hacks

«Calm Technology» – wenn Technologie entstresst

«Technologie soll funktionaler Teil unseres Lebens sein und nicht ständig unseren Alltag unterbrechen». Dies sagt Amber Case in einem Video, welches an der 67. Internationalen Handelstagung am GDI aufgezeichnet wurde.

Finanz, Technologie

Primavera De Filippi über die Lehren des Internets

Das Internet habe sich gewandelt, von einem mächtigen Tool der Selbstbestimmung zu einem Werkzeug der Überwachung, sagt Harvard-Forscherin Primavera De Filippi im Video-Interview. Daraus sollten wir für die Blockchain lernen.

Finanz, Technologie

Alex Tapscott: «Blockchain greift die Jobs der Mittelklasse an»

Blockchain repräsentiere eine Evolution von einem Internet der Information zu einem Internet der Werte, sagte Autor Alex Tapscott im Interview an der Blockchain Valley Conference. Was trotzdem noch schief laufen kann, beschreibt er hier im Gespräch.

Finanz, Technologie
16.06.2017

Jesse Grushack: «Wir bieten Künstlern einen einfachen Weg, ihre Musik zu lizensieren»

Jesse Grushack, Mitgründer der blockchain-basierten Datenbank Ujo Music erklärt im Interview, wie man ein faires Ökosystem für die Musikindustrie aufbaut. «Es geht darum, die Blockchain-Bausteine zu nehmen und daraus ein funktionierendes Ganzes zu bauen.»

Finanz, Technologie

Jags Rao: «Blockchain wird die Art, wie Unternehmen aufgebaut sind, fundamental verändern»

Jags Rao, Blockchain Workstream Lead der Reinsurance Technology Initiative bei Swiss Re, spricht im Videointerview über Geschäfts- und strategische Anwendungen der Blockchain.

Finanz, Technologie

Blockchain einfach erklärt

Blockchain birgt das Potenzial, ganze Branchen tiefgreifend zu erschüttern. Sind Sie und Ihre Branche darauf vorbereitet? Das Video erklärt die Funktion und den Aufbau der Blockchain ganz simpel.

Finanz, Technologie
16.06.2017

Andreas Kind: «Es wird länger dauern, bis Blockchain Systeme wirklich finanzielle Werte halten»

Andreas Kind, Manager Industry Platforms & Blockchain bei IBM Research Zurich, spricht im Interview über Blockchain für Unternehmen. «Durch die Anforderungen unserer Kunden wissen wir: Es braucht eine Blockchain für Geschäftsprozesse.»

Gesellschaft
06.06.2017

Geostratege Parag Khanna über Direkte Technokratie

Geostratege Parag Khanna plädiert für ein neues Regierungssystem, in dem grosse Staaten von kleinen lernen. An der GDI-Konferenz «Tyler Cowen and Parag Khanna at GDI» sprachen wir mit ihm über Demokratie, gute Governance und die Vorbilder Schweiz und Singapur.

Urban, Gesellschaft
06.06.2017

Tyler Cowen: «Wir haben ein Problem auf lange Sicht»

Unsere Wirtschaft sei weniger dynamisch, bürokratischer, weniger innovativ geworden, sagte der renommierte US-Ökonom Tyler Cowen im Video-Interview am GDI. Das würde langfristig zum Problem werden.

Technologie, Gesellschaft
19.03.2017

Robin Hanson über eine Welt, in der Roboter regieren

Wie wird Macht verteilt in einer Welt, in der Roboter, die Kopien menschlicher Gehirne in sich tragen, in der Überzahl sind? Antworten lieferte der Ökonom Robin Hanson im Video-Interview am GDI-Trendtag.

Urban, Wohnen

Stephen Graham: «Es ist logisch, dass Städte vertikal wachsen»

«Wenn ein starker Wettbewerb um Land herrscht, die Preise explodieren, ist es logisch, dass Städte sich vertikal ausdehnen», sagt Stadtforscher Stephen Graham im Videointerview vom GDI-Trendtag. «Die Leute wollen im Zentrum sein.»

Mode, Marketing, Gesellschaft

Tom Vanderbilt: «Alle Vorlieben sind erlernt»

Bestseller-Autor Tom Vanderbilt ist überzeugt: ob wir die Farbe Blau vor Rot bevorzugen, ist Ergebnis unserer Sozialisation. Im Videointerview vom GDI-Trendtag beschreibt er, warum es uns schwer fällt, Gefallen für neue Dinge zu entwickeln.

Globalisierung, Gesellschaft, Global Thought Leaders

Elif Shafak im Interview: Die Macht der Emotionen

«Wir müssen uns auf die Welt der Emotionen einlassen und Verbindungen zu den Ängsten der Menschen aufnehmen», sagt die mehrfach preisgekrönte Autorin Elif Shafak im Interview an der GDI-Konferenz «Die Zukunft der Macht».

Globalisierung, Gesellschaft, Global Thought Leaders

Moisés Naím im Interview: Maskierte Autokratien

Um der Demokratie die Totenglocke zu läuten, ist es noch viel zu früh, versichert Moisés Naím, ehemaliger Exekutiv-Direktor der Weltbank und Handelsminister Venezuelas, im Interview an der GDI-Konferenz «Die Zukunft der Macht».

Globalisierung, Gesellschaft, Global Thought Leaders

Robert D. Kaplan: «Vergessen Sie Politikwissenschaften»

Den Vereinigten Staaten steht ihre erste Präsidentschaft des digitalen Zeitalters bevor, sagte Robert Kaplan, Senior Fellow am Center for a New American Security in Washington, im Interview an der GDI-Konferenz «Die Zukunft der Macht».

Globalisierung, Gesellschaft, Global Thought Leaders

Branko Milanović im Interview: Auf dem Weg zur Anarchie

Bezüglich der Zukunft der Weltwirtschaft hat der Ökonomieprofessor Branko Milanović eine gute und eine schlechte Nachricht. Welche das sind, verriet Milanović im Interview an der GDI-Konferenz «Die Zukunft der Macht».

Technologie, Gesellschaft, Vernetzung

Das Leben in der Extended Reality – Film ab!

Mit der Verschmelzung von digitaler und analoger Welt verändern sich unsere Städte radikal. Wie so eine Welt aussehen könnte? Schauen Sie unsere Video-Vorschau auf den 13. Europäischen Trendtag!

Technologie, Handel, Gesellschaft

Mit den Hologramm-Freunden am Küchentisch

Im Leben zwischen Cloud und Location verschwimmen die Grenzen von Physischem und Virtuellem. Unsere Gewohnheiten, das Zwischenmenschliche verändert sich. Doch wie bewegen wir uns in der Stadt, wo treffen wir Freunde? GDI-Forschungsleiterin Karin Frick im Videointerview.

Technologie, Gesellschaft, Global Thought Leaders

Die Geschichte des Gottlieb Duttweiler Preises

Essen, Technologie, Konsum

Wenn das Restaurant nach Hause kommt

Die Foodbranche wird von Delivery-Start-ups umgewälzt. Wie sowohl lokale Restaurants, als auch Onlineanbieter davon profitieren, erzählten die Gründer und CEOs der Lieferdienste Just Eat, Domino’s, Deliveroo und Henchman kürzlich auf dem 17. Food Service Summit in Zürich.

Marketing, Handel, Konsum

Franz Julen: Leadership-Werte für den internationalen Erfolg

Der CEO von Intersport International spricht im Interview über die Führung des weltweit grössten Sportartikelhändlers, schwierige Märkte und die fünf Erfolgsfaktoren seines Unternehmens.

Marketing, Handel, Konsum

Das braucht der Food-Händler von morgen

Interview mit Joanne Denney-Finch auf der 66. Internationalen Handelstagung über hohe Kundenerwartungen und Inspiration.

Artikel 1 bis 25 von 86 angezeigt